Apply now

Our 2014 scheme is now closed for applications.

We have a lot to offer but we also expect a lot and our standards are high. We are looking to recruit talented people who can make a real contribution to our success.

So who are we looking for?


You will need to have attained or expect to attain at least the following:

  • 300 UCAS points (or equivalent)*.
    *Please note that we only consider a candidate’s ‘top’ 3 A Level grades (or equivalent) and General Studies does not count.
  • 5 G.C.S.Es A*-C, including Maths and English.

If you were educated outside of the UK, please state the actual qualifications you obtained without translating to equivalents. Our team will match your grades to our requirements.


You must be a UK, EU, Commonwealth, EEA or Swiss national to comply with Civil Service nationality rules and must hold a valid work permit. We are not able to sponsor work visas.

Skills and talents

Of course, academic achievement isn’t enough on its own. You will need to have good analytical skills and attention to detail, combined with the ability to work with others and communicate clearly and confidently. You will be excited about what the National Audit Office is all about and you’ll have the ‘get up and go’ to achieve results in a highly professional environment. You will be assessed against our school leaver competencies at each stage of the application process. These have been identified as the key skills and behaviours required to be a successful trainee with the NAO.

If you haven’t already done so, we strongly recommend that you do this practice numerical reasoning test first before completing the test for real, which you will be asked to do on-line once you have submitted your application form.

Please do not submit an application if you do not meet these requirements.

The NAO is an equal opportunities employer. We aim to reflect the diversity of the public we serve. We are committed to a fair and objective selection process free from discrimination on the basis of the following characteristics: disability, age, gender reassignment, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion or belief, sex, and sexual orientation.