

National Audit Office

Board Agenda 23 March 2023: 14:30-17:00 157-197 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 9SP

Blue Mezz 1

To note that the Board meeting will be preceded by a Q&A meeting with staff

1	Chair's welcome	 Apologies for absence Declarations of interest Appointment of Executive Members of the Board in 2023-24 	14:30-14:35 (5 mins)
2	Regular items	 Approval of January Minutes Action log C&AG update 	14:35-14:50 (15 mins)
3	Strategic discussion	Ideal State for the NAO (part 1)	14:50-15:35 (45 mins)
4	Substantial approvals	Review of the NAO's internal Whistleblowing Policy	15:35-15:45 (10 mins)
5	Substantial operational matters	 Structure / key messages for corporate annual reports in 2022-23: Annual Report and Accounts; Diversity and Inclusion; and Transparency Report Annual MP feedback including verbal Parliamentary update Annual Client feedback ATP update Six monthly progress updates on the NAO's performance and risk management Findings from the Board's self-assessment including proposed next steps 	15:45-16:50 (65 mins)
6	Matters for the Board to note / to discuss by exception	 Update on Corporate Services Pay review Findings from benchmark against NAO's Climate Change guidance for ARACs Committee update: minutes from latest RemCo and ARAC meetings AQB: verbal update from Gaenor Bagley NED vacancy: verbal update from the Chair 	16:50-17:00 (10 mins)
7	Conclusion	• AoB	17:00

Date of next meeting: 9 June 2023 in Newcastle	

Board members				
Dame Fiona Reynolds	FR	Chair		
Gaenor Bagley	GB	Non-Executive Member		
Alistair Conner	AC	Non-Executive Member		
Sir Martin Donnelly	MD	Non-Executive Member		
Dame Clare Tickell	СТ	Non-Executive Member		
Gareth Davies	GD	Comptroller & Auditor General		
Daniel Lambauer	DL	Executive Director responsible for Strategy and Resources		
Kate Mathers	КМ	Executive Director responsible for Financial Audit Service Line		
Max Tse	MT	Executive Director response for Knowledge		
Attendees				
Abdool Kara	AK	Executive Director responsible for People		
Elaine Lewis	EL	Executive Director responsible for Financial Audit Quality		
Rebecca Sheeran	RS	Executive Director responsible for VFM service line		
Steve Corbishley	SC	Director, Compliance and Quality Unit (item 5)		
Chloe Forbes	CF	Head of Strategy (item 3)		
Adrian Jenner	AJ	Director Parliamentary Relations (item 5)		
Hannah McNicoll	HMcN	Director External Communications (item 5)		
John McCann	JMcC	Director HR (item 5)		
Anna Sydorak-Tomczyk	AST	Lead on Annual Report and Accounts (item 5)		
Nigel Terrington	NT	Director Strategy		
Baljinder Virk	BV	HR specialist (item 5)		
Helene Morpeth	НМ	Head of Governance and Risk		