The Board supports and advises the Comptroller and Auditor General (C&AG) in meeting his statutory responsibilities, and oversees how we manage and use resources. The Leadership Team is an executive group responsible for supporting the C&AG in running the NAO.

For more details about the Board see the links below.

Terms of reference (pdf – 151KB)

Minutes of meetings of the Board

Travel and hospitality expenditure

Non-Executive Chairman

Lord Bichard KCB


Michael Bichard worked at senior levels in local government and was the chief executive at both Brent and Gloucestershire. He then moved into central government working as chief executive of the Benefits Agency and then as permanent secretary at the Department for Education and Employment.

Since his retirement from the civil service in 2001, he held a variety of positions including vice chancellor of the University of the Arts London, chair of the Legal Services Commission, founder director of the Institute for Government, and Chair of the Design Council. He also chaired an inquiry into the Soham murders in 2004.

Michael is currently chair of the Social Care Institute for Excellence, chair of Shakespeare’s Globe, and trustee of the River and Rowing Museum.

He received a knighthood in 1999 and became a cross-bench member of the House of Lords in 2010. He is now a deputy speaker of the House.

Non-Executive Members

Greg Parston

Greg Parston

Greg Parston is a senior manager and organisation consultant. He has much experience in governance, strategy and change management; skills which we need on the NAO Board.
He has extensive experience in public service delivery and policy and has advised leaders in government, civil service and charitable organisations around the world on how to improve social and economic outcome. Greg Parston is currently the senior adviser at the Institute of Global Health Innovation at Imperial College London. He also works as an independent consultant and is Chairman of Dartington Hall Trust.

Ray Shostak

Ray Shostak

Ray Shostak CBE is an international adviser in education, government performance and public service reform. He has held a number of positions in local and central government including head of the Prime Minister’s Delivery Unit and was a member of the HM Treasury board between 2007 and 2011.

Ray is currently chair of Trustees of the Consortium of Voluntary Adoption Agencies, a trustee of the Early Intervention Foundation and is an Honorary Norham Fellow at Oxford University. He has been chair of the remuneration and nominations committee since January 2015.

Robert Sykes

Robert Sykes

Robert Sykes has significant experience of working in local government and served as chief executive of Worcestershire County Council for ten years. He also has non-executive experience in the private and public sectors, most recently serving on the boards of Core Assets and as non-executive member of the board of the Crown Prosecution Service until 2012.

In 2012 he was appointed by the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government as lead commissioner at Doncaster MBC. He left in the summer of 2014 when the intervention successfully ended.

Janet Eilbeck

Janet Eilbeck is a chartered accountant with over 30 years’ experience. She was an assurance Partner at PWC until 2011, specialising in government and the broader public sector, including wide experience of internal audit.
She was also Chair of the Internal Audit Standards Advisory Board (IASAB), as well as being the independent financial expert for the Department of Education. She is the Chair of the NAO’s Audit Committee since December 2016.

Comptroller & Auditor General (C&AG)

Amyas Morse, KCB

Amyas Morse

Sir Amyas Morse was appointed C&AG on 1 June 2009, and is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland. Amyas was global managing partner (operations) at PricewaterhouseCoopers before he joined the Ministry of Defence in 2006 as commercial director. He has served as a member of the Major Projects Review Group and the Public Sector Board of the Chartered Institute of Purchasing and Supply, and on a National Health Service Project Board.

Chief Operating Officer

Michael Whitehouse OBE

Michael Whitehouse

Michael Whitehouse was appointed chief operating officer in July 2009. Michael is a qualified accountant with extensive experience of value for money work across government and internationally. Michael has responsibility for the strategy, capability and operational performance of the NAO and leads the NAO’s work on cross-government issues. Michael is chair of the Operational Capability Committee and the Change Management and Assurance Committee.

Executive Leaders

Stephen Smith

Stephen Smith

Stephen Smith joined the NAO in August 2015 and is jointly responsible for leadership of the financial audit workstream, a portfolio of public and sector bodies and more generally the NAO’s corporate finance related work.

Prior to joining the NAO, he had over 20 years experience as a partner with KPMG where he led a number of key initiatives for the firm nationally and internationally, often with a performance improvement or change agenda at their heart.

His experience ranges across a broad spectrum, including audit, mergers and acquisitions and business advice.

John Thorpe

John Thorpe

John Thorpe joined the NAO in 1983 as a trainee, becoming a lead director and joining the leadership team in January 2014. John qualified as an accountant with the NAO.

He has experience of directing a mixed portfolio of work and is currently the joint-leader of the NAO’s financial audit workstream. John works with a range of NAO teams engaged in the audit of programmes including tax, welfare, defence, transport, energy, environment and rural affairs and regulation. John also oversees the NAO’s international work.